bestvoicelibrary.com
Comparison · method 2026.10

Speechify vs Murf Voices: Catalog Size Is Not the Whole Story

Speechify publishes 1,000+ voices; Murf publishes 200+. Compare language lists, free tiers, pricing transparency, and the licensing fields both leave blank.

Speechify is the stronger pick when you want the larger vendor-published catalog and a reading workflow. Murf is the narrower catalog, with fewer published languages, and a pricing page that would not render a plan table during our check. For a narration buyer, neither page answers the two questions that matter most: what the licence covers and what the export specification is.

This pair sits third and fifth in our 2026 voice library ranking. The gap is mostly about catalog disclosure, not about which voice sounds better.

The published fields

What we compared Speechify Murf
Voices 1,000+ 200+
Languages 60+ 35+
Free entry 10 robotic voices, text-to-speech only free tier listed; terms not readable in our check
Paid entry $29 per month for Premium not published on a readable page
Commercial licence not stated on the consumer page not stated
Export specification not stated not stated
Emotion styles not stated not stated
Extra features Scan and Listen, AI Summaries not stated on the plan page

Three of the rows are identical: both leave the licence, the export format, and the emotion count blank. That is the state of the consumer voice market. The catalogs are well described; the production terms are not.

What the counts actually compare

Both figures are vendor-published, which makes them more comparable than a third-party number. But a “voice” is not a standard unit. One vendor may count a base voice once and treat its styles as variants; another may count each style as a separate voice. A third may include community uploads that are not cleared for commercial work.

So the 1,000+ versus 200+ gap is real, but it is not a fivefold quality difference. It is a fivefold difference in the number of selectable entries the vendors chose to publish. Use it to decide which catalog to open first, not which one to buy.

Reading workflow versus narration catalog

Speechify’s Premium plan bundles Scan and Listen and AI Summaries with the voice catalog. Those are reading tools: they help a person move through documents and listen to them. For a student, an editor, or anyone who proofreads by ear, that is the product.

Murf’s public pages are built around the voice catalog. The site states 200+ voices across 35+ languages, and the pricing page is where a buyer would expect plan terms. In our check, that page did not produce a readable table. That is a documentation gap, not evidence that Murf lacks a licence or an export format.

The price question is one-sided

Speechify publishes a $29 monthly Premium price. That is a clean number a buyer can put in a budget.

Murf’s page gave us no plan table. Third-party listings circulate a monthly figure, but this site does not reproduce it because the vendor’s own page is the standard we apply to every entry. If you need a Murf number, ask the vendor; if you need a number you can defend today, use the Speechify line and treat the Murf side as a quote.

Who should pick which

Speechify fits:

Murf fits:

The two questions to ask both vendors

What does the licence cover? A consumer plan and a commercial licence are not the same thing. Ask whether the output can be used in monetized video, client work, and broadcast, and ask for a written answer.

What file arrives? A sample rate and a file format decide whether the audio can go into an edit without a conversion step. Neither page states one. If the answer is “MP3 only”, plan for a mastering step; if it is “WAV at 44.1 kHz”, you can hand it to an editor.

The full ranking shows how the other eight providers compare, and the method explains the weights.

FAQ

Does Speechify have more voices than Murf?

On the published numbers, yes. Speechify's pricing page lists 1,000+ voices and 60+ languages. Murf's site states 200+ voices and 35+ languages. Both are vendor-published counts, so they are more comparable than a third-party figure would be, but they may still count voices differently.

Which one publishes a commercial licence?

Neither page we checked states a commercial licence for the voice catalog. Speechify's consumer pricing page is built around reading plans; Murf's pricing page did not render a readable plan table. If the audio is for client work, ask both vendors for the licence terms in writing.

Is Murf cheaper than Speechify?

We cannot answer that from the pages we checked. Speechify lists Premium at $29 per month. Murf's pricing page was a JavaScript shell during our check and gave us no plan table, so this site does not publish a Murf price or compare the two on cost.

Which is better for listening rather than narration?

Speechify. Its Premium plan lists Scan and Listen and AI Summaries alongside the voice catalog, which are reading features rather than production features. Murf's published pages focus on the voice catalog, not on a listening workflow.

↑